Skip to content

Well Being Starts with…

April 30, 2011

Loving yourself.

Yes, I am talking to YOU!

In order to be fully encompassed in life and all the blessings it has to offer, one must be strong, secure, confident, and happy with themself.

I must admit… I am a little too hard on myself. Wait. Let me take that back. I am REALLY hard on myself!

However, I am going to change that right now.

See I tend to set standard and goals for myself to the highest degree. All of which I know are not attainable right away. But, I secretly still set these standards beknown to all my close family members and friends.

Why do I do this? Why do I kill myself over such tedious things in life, like what I am going to be when I grow up?

I need to sit back. RELAX. And take it one step at a time.

I have discovered in the whole 22 years of my life (haha, yes I know I don’t have much experience), that things don’t always go the way I want them to go.

I have conquered many obstacles that have been dealt my way, and I know for the rest of my life, no matter how hard I try to avoid them, there will be more.

But how am I going to conquer these obstacles you may ask?

1. Eliminate self-criticism. In doing so I will use phrases such as “I CAN…”. I’m not going to listen to the miniscule voice in my head that says I can’t!

2. Acknowledge your effort. I am horrible at this. I have to rewire my brain into thinking that it isn’t always about winning or having successes in my life. The effort you put into something is what counts. HELLO!

3. Let go of worry. I am a worry wort. Gosh. It is BAD. However, it is a horrible way of living a life in constant worry. I can attest to that!! Worry doesn’t make things happen, only wise actions can. If it is out of your control, learn to accept that things will come to be if they are meant to be.

4. Forgive yourself. No one is perfect. Everyone makes mistakes and it is in your control to let go and forgive yourself.

5. Trust Yourself. Repeat after me… “I AM CONFIDENT”. Know that you have the ability to make important changes as long as you put your heart into it.

6. Grow Spiritually. By spending more time growing spiritually, loving yourself will come along with it. You have the power to become more peaceful, loving, compassionate, and confident with yourself, in knowing who you are and your destiny here on Earth.

7. Make Positive Affirmations. Whether it is repeating phrases in my head or reading a sticky note on my bulletin board, affirmations raise my self-esteem every day. Phrases such as: “You are Beautiful” or “Yes I CAN!” can make a huge impact on my outlook for the rest of the day.

8. Nurture your dreams. Well I guess this is a start… Don’t deny your dreams. Period. When you nurture your dreams the life you live is a joy because you are expressing yourself fully.

9. Have Fun 🙂 Don’t take life too seriously. Life is meant to be enjoyed.

10. Look after your body. Regular exercise and nutrition helps keep your body healthy and strong. Haven’t you ever heard that “your body is your temple”.

11. Learn to see the beauty. See the beauty in the world, people around you, and yourself.

What are some of your top tips for loving yourself ?

❤ 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 4:21 PM

    Look in the mirror and say DAMN I look hot today. I did it. No shame.

    • May 3, 2011 8:52 PM

      Can I just say… wait, I’m speechless right now!!! I can’t believe YOU, Janetha, from Meals & Moves just commented on my blog. Thanks girlie 🙂 I read you EVERY. single. day!

Leave a Reply

